Performing Arts

Performing Arts courses challenge students to open their minds to the world of theater while inspiring confidence and creating a community of support. Students have the opportunity to take courses related to music and performance, such as Show Choir, Music Theory, Jazz Band, Concert Choir, Public Speaking, Concert Band, Orchestra, and Presentation and Performance. Most of the courses offered come with the experience of performing on stage for parents and friends. Our experienced faculty is dedicated to teaching students how to thrive and learn through music and performance. Additionally, students can participate in extracurricular activities like the Fall Play, Spring Musical and The Academy Chorale.
 

Visual Arts

In the Visual Arts courses, students learn about new technologies and how to create on multiple platforms with imagination and originality. Under the watchful eye and tutelage of our accomplished faculty, students may explore many creative avenues, learn about the newest design programs, and work three-dimensionally with hands-on projects. With courses ranging from graphic design and yearbook to jewelry making and studio art, there are numerous ways students may find creative outlets and improve and experiment with their God-given talents. 

Contact Us

Ms. Anne Chriszt
Performing Arts | Drama Director
achriszt@sja1890.org

Ms. Kathleen Cooper
Performing Arts | Vocal Music | Department Chair
kcooper@sja1890.org

Mr. David Mumford
Performing Arts | Instrumental Music
dmumford@sja1890.org

Ms. Terise Janca ’93
Visual Arts
tjanca@sja1890.org

Mr. Peter Nezovich
Visual Arts
pnezovich@sja1890.org

Mrs. Beth Pleban 
Visual Arts | Department Chair
bpleban@sja1890.org

Ms. Tammy Sparks
Visual Arts
tsparks@sja1890.org

Upcoming Events

List of 1 events.

  • Nov
    10

    The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged)

    The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged) (Revised) hilariously summarizes all of Shakespeare’s plays, using reenactments and audience participation. The acting troupe acts through Shakespeare’s entire canon-37 plays- in 97 minutes by summarizing the canon through a football game, rap songs, and outrageously condensed, comedy mash-up titles. An extremely popular play that ran in London for nine years and has enjoyed countless productions in various languages playing throughout the world, The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged) (Revised) entertains and teaches audiences  facts about Shakespeare while ensuring them a rollicking good time.
    Event Location: Saint Joseph Academy
    Read More
View All Events